Namco Tekken 4 (2001)

Tekken 4 (鉄拳4) was released for arcade on August 2001 on the Namco System 246 platform.

Tekken 4 splash image

I got hold of a Tekken 4/System 246 setup in the U.S. earlier this week and was of course eager to fire it up as soon as I got home. The setup was, according to Bryan at I Need A Game, serviced about a year ago and was taken from the cabinet after the monitor flatlined.

Tekken 4 booting

Still in need of some cleaning it did work nicely and booted without any hiccups in my New Astro City. Only needed some brightness and color adjustments which were easily accomplished from the test/setup menu.

A bit of warning when booting up a System 246 in a JAMMA cabinet. The System 246 is capable of outputting both 15 kHz (CGA) and 31 kHz (VGA). Make sure your cabinet can handle the chosen frequency. Output level, sync frequency and sync signal are controlled via the DIP switches on the front of the System 246 unit. All set to off worked fine in my cabinet set to 15 kHz.

Tekken 4 DVD and security dongle

Not 100% sure which version of the game I got my hands on as you can see from the picture the original Ver. A has been changed for Ver. D.

EDIT: According to defor at neogeo.com this is the normal procedure when upgrading the games so what I have is Ver. D.

Namco System 246 testrigMy temporary rig for testing my new System 246 worked out nicely. Though I still have to sort out the kick harness and get hold of a four or six button panel.

Links

Leave a Reply

