Naomi Pi

Netbooting your Naomi is about to get Raspberry flavored. Naomi Pi 1 For a while now I’ve been thinking about different ways to netboot the Naomi. Yes, it’s quite handy being able to load games from your nearest computer but why not take it further?

How about doing it from your arcade machine? Pretty handy, no?

I had a Raspberry Pi lying around I didn’t know what to do with so I thought what if it had a display and some way to control it? After some search I found an expansion board with a 20 x 4 LCD display and some buttons from BitWizard. The Naomi Pi was born.

The general idea is to hook it up with keyboard and monitor for some easy config (setting up IP addresses the mounting NFS volume etc) and then setting it up inside the cabinet for easy loading of games.

Stay tuned for updates 😉

6 Replies to “Naomi Pi”

    1. Thx 🙂 And yes, that is my intention. Had some other ideas on the way that I scrapped (or put on hold). If all goes well this will be a nice mod for the cab 😉

      1. I was also thinking something like this but have all the games on the pi SD card. then when the pi loads it just loads the last used game or you can select a new one. no nas or PC. pretty keen to see how you go

      2. Was thinking of that solution as well, but since I’ve got a NAS running 24/7 I opted for that for now. Sadly I’ve been bogged with other stuff requiring my time so I’ve had to put this one aside 😦

  1. please, if you are able to get this running, some kind of instruction for dummies would be highly appreciated. 🙂

    1. There will be a tutorial of some kind once I get the time to finish the project. For now I’m sadly enough drowning in both work and other projects.

Leave a comment